In this tutorial we're going to show you how to design an icon from our popular freebie, the Incredibly Detailed Drinks Icon Pack. We'll walk you through the process of creating the takeout coffee cup from start to finish, exploring a wide variety of techniques in Photoshop that can be applied to almost any type of design and drawing.
This tutorial assumes a basic understanding of the Adobe Photoshop software package, and was created using version CS5, however I think CS3+ can perform most if not all of the same tasks.
Let's begin with the tutorial:
Set the foreground colour to #6e3b14 and draw a rectangle (U) shape layer in the centre but towards the bottom of the document at about 295x395px. this will be the building block of our cup.
Using the direct selection tool (A) grab the bottom corners of your rectangle shape layer and nudge (arrow keys) them to meet the inside guides you drew, this will make your rectangle appear to expand towards the top.
We will now be using Photoshop's boolean tools, so make sure you have the shape layer still selected (thin grey lines will be visible) and using the toolbar at the top of the window select Shape Layer, Oval, Subtract from shape layer.
Now draw an oval using these options within the top guides, the result will be an area subtracted from the original rectangle rather than a new shape layer.
Repeat the last step at the bottom of the rectangle with one difference, select the Add to shape layer as opposed to subtract or create new.
At this point we should have the basic shape that will form the coffee cup.
Note: if at point during this you feel like getting a coffee, for motivation feel free ;).
The top row of stops in order are:
Opacity: 100 Location: 0, Opacity: 0 Location: 50, Opacity: 100 Location: 100
The bottom row of stops are:
Color: #190e03, Location: 0, Color: #ffffff, Location: 50, Color: #190e03, Location: 100
Having a white stop in the centre of the two dark brown stops creates a simultaneous shadow and highlight using just one gradient.
Create a new layer (CMD/CTRL+SHIFT+N) and select the brush tool (B), with a foreground color of #000000 draw a basic 300px soft circle (default brushes) at the bottom of your shape, approximately half on it and half off. Then right click the new layer you just created select Create Clipping Mask.
Create another new layer, also with a clipping mask and using the brush tool, set the foreground colour to #ffffff and draw a highlight down the centre of the shape as demonstrated. This will look quite ghastly at first but if you set the layers blending options to Soft Light and Opacity to 30% it will tone down the effect a look more realistic.
Once again, create another new layer that is clipped to the original shape, this time fill the whole layer white (#ffffff) with the Paint Bucket (G) tool, and from the menu bar Filter > Convert for Smart Filters, this will convert the current layer to a smart object and allow non-destructive application of filters (ie. you can modify and remove them later if you change your mind!).
next Filter > Render > Fibres... and set the variance to 64 and strength to 3.
Optional: you can also apply a subtle noise filter on top of the fibres to your preference
On the fibres layer set the blending options to Soft Light and opacity to 6%
Our cup is now ready! next step is the lid.
Apply an Inner Shadow to the new shape layer you just drew with the following settings:
And a Gradient Overlay with the bottom row of stops going from #c2bebb to #ffffff and back to #c2bebb with the middle #ffffff stop at 65%, blend mode: Normal and opacity: 100%.
Draw another ellipse above the new shape (again, the guides will assist you in this if you start from where the very top and very left lines intersect)
Use the Inner Shadow layer style to create a nice subtle highlight below the new shape layer you just drew with the following settings:
Duplicate the last layer you created, a quick easy way to do this is to hold ALT and hit one of the arrow keys, a duplicate will be created and offset one pixel in the direction you pressed.
For the next step you will need to use a bit of your natural depth perception and use the transform tool (CMD/CTRL+T) to first decrease the size of the shape proportionally (hold SHIFT key and drag anchors) and then squash the shape vertically until it looks like it is actually sitting on top of the lid of the cup.
Use the image below as a reference for what you're trying to achieve, applying the gradient overlay first may help with your perception if you're a very visual person so the settings for that are pretty simple:
Stop 1: #827a74, Stop 2: #fbfbfb, angle 90
Duplicate this layer and nudge it down 10px (SHIFT+Down Arrow Key).
Now we want to clip the duplicated layer to the original layer, but rather than duplicating the layer for a second time to create a clipping mask we will use boolean operations to trim this new layer down to size.
Select the path of the duplicated shape layer and with the ellipse tool (U) make sure Shape layers and Intersect shape area are selected and draw a new ellipse slightly smaller and inside the original shape, overlapping at the bottom as illustrated below.
On the new layer set the colour of the shape to #b8b4b1 and apply a gradient overlay at a 90 angle going from #000000 to #000000 but with the first stop on the top row at 60% opacity and the second stop at 0%.
The next step requires a bit of Pen free-styling, remember to utilise real photos of your subject matter for guidance when drawing shapes like this, nobody can remember exactly what every shape in the world looks like so don't feel like it's cheating!
Choose the Pen tool ( P ) and draw a shape similar to one below, fill it with #e8e6e4.
Give the new shape an inner shadow with the following settings:
And an Outer Glow:
Again with the Pen free-styling draw a shape similar to that show below.
Using the Direct Selection (A) tool select all of the shape and copy and paste a duplicate into the same shape layer, with the duplicated path selected Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal and nudge it to the right until it is symmetrical with the original
Apply a Gradient Overlay to the layer from #190e03, 0 to #ffffff, 50 and back to #190e03, 100 and create a new stop on the top layer in the centre at 0% opacity. Set the gradients overall angle to 0.
Draw two more shapes using the same technique on the left hand side of the lid, fill them with #ffffff.
Convert each shape for Smart Filters Filer > Convert for Smart Filters and on the top shape apply a Filter > Gaussian Blur at 1.3 strength and on the bottom shape a Gaussian Blur at 5 strength.
Next use the Pen tool again and draw a shadow between the two highlights, fill it with #000000.
Set the opacity of the three new shapes as follows:
Group all three layers (CMD/CTRL+G) and duplicate the group, then flip it Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal and nudge it across to the righthand side of the lid.
You can delete the duplicated lower highlight (with the strong blur and 100% opacity) as it doesn't look quite right on both sides.
Use the Polygonal Lasso Tool (L) to trim the edges of the blurred shadow, draw a shape using the body of the cup as a guide and then right click the selection and Select Inverse to invert the selection to everything outside of the shape, hit DEL to erase.
Group both of the new shadow layers and set the opacity of the group to 70%
Once again, use the Ellipse Tool to draw a shape layer at the bottom of the document on a layer below all the others, use the guides CMD/CTRL+; to help you get it in the right place.
Apply a Gaussian Blur of 5% strength, and nudge it down a few pixels until it looks like a realistic shadow below the cup.
Final and optional step, above all existing layers create a new adjustment layer Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels and tweak the image to get the lighting just right.
And here we have it, the final product!
I really hope you've enjoyed following this tutorial and that you learned some new techniques during the process, please let us know how you liked it and if you have any issues! Thank you so much for reading!