
In this tutorial we're going to be designing a bright, colorful and "happy" business card design from scratch in Adobe Illustrator CS4.
Once you have created your artboards, save the document. This is a ridiculous step, but worth doing. You could, if you haven't already, save this set-up as a template so you don't need to keep recreating artboards and new documents everytime you design a new business card.
We're going to add a subtle and slick-looking gradient to the design now. It's not going to be anything to overpowering, just something nice and simple to add that extra "oomph" to our final design. To apply a gradient to the shape, you simply need to click on the "gradient" in the gradient window/palette.
Once you've clicked on this, you'd have noticed it automatically applies a black to white gradient to our shape. To change this, simply drag a color swatch of your choice onto the two ends of the gradient level. I've used two very light grays, and changed the gradient type to radial.
This has added a lovely subtle gradient to our design. Copy the rectangle by hitting Cmd+C, and then paste it in place by hitting Cmd+F (this literally does just paste the shape in place). Use the Shift+Cursor-Keys to shift the shape along to the second artboard (the back of our business card design). This saves us creating the shape again.
Change the color of your shape to something clear and obvious, and move the shape to the left side of your first artboard, making sure it's touching the edge of your artboard (not your bleed).
The reason we haven't yet put it against our artboards bleed is because we want the visible shape (once the cards have been printed) to measure 1cm wide, the same length of that used in my brochure design. Using the Selection Tool, make the shape larger by stretching the left side of it, making it touch the bleed.
Copy and paste the shape, and whilst using the Direct Selection Tool and holding the shift-key, rotate it.
Move and stretch the shape so it is touching all three (left, bottom and right) sides of the bleed. Make sure the visible area within the actual artboard is only 1cm wide.
Copy the left shape once again, and position it on the other side of the card.
Select the green shape, and reduce the length of it, so it's somewhere around half way of the entire length of our artboard - this doesn't have to be completely accurate, although guides should make that possible!
Copy that shape, and move it to the other side of our artboard. Change the color of our left shapes to one color, and the color of our right shapes to another - colors aren't important yet as we will be changing those soon!
Click on the background of our business card (you can do this on both artboards) and go to Object > Lock > Selection. This will stop them from getting in the way. Select the shapes on our left side by dragging over and making sure both of them are in your selection. In the Pathfinder Window (Window > Pathfinder) select Unite. This will merge the two shapes into one. Repeat the step to the shapes on the right side.
Create a new shape using the same techniques we have been using, and fill it with a different color. Overhead the artboards, you should find an "Align to Artboard" button, click on this, and then click on Horizontal Align Center. This will center your shape, allowing everything to be in the perfect position.
Whilst we're in the mood of creating rectangles and coloring, repeat the previous few steps to create the shapes on the other artboard in our document, and color them.
Start playing around with your text. I've used various styles, colors and sizes. My company name, "MediaLoot", uses Helvetica Bold, with a size ranging from 24-28pt. My slogan, "This Business Card Is Slick, Baby!", uses Helvetica Neue Medium with a size set to 8pt, a leading of 0.01pt, and "All Caps" selected. I changed the color to green to match the centre rectangle shape, making the design easy on the eyes. Make sure you align your typography well!
Using the Line Segment Tool, create a line to finish off the back of our card. Fill it with a light gray 0.25px stroke.
Making sure you're on the new layer, go to Edit > Paste in Place. With the new artwork still selected, go to Object > Group, and change the color of the grouped items to a Pantone color.
It may look like we've just ruined our work, but underneath we have reserved all of those lovely colors. The purple on your screen will be printed as a clear Spot UV over everything else which has previously been printed (CMYK), leaving you with a gorgeous shiny metallic surface.
Export your file as a high-quality PDF, and you're done!